“Labor-less Day” Southwestern Wontons

Labor Day is usually full of sun, barbecue, drinking, and water activities. For me, it involved rehydration from a weekend of drinking and going in and out of sleep on my couch while a Survivor marathon played in the background. Seriously. 

At any rate, when I came to the realization that I ought to do *something* productive with this day, I got off my butt, put on some pants, and went to the grocery store. I bought kitty litter, wonton wrappers, and Shiner Oktoberfest. Because I’ve got priorities. And needs. 

When checking out, I had a nice chat with my cashier, Jume. She asked me if I was making wontons, to which i said “I’m gonna try.” Using a receipt, she showed me how *she” folds her wontons AND advised me that whisked egg was a much better sealant than just water. Wise, wise Jume. 

I’ve been eying this recipe for Southwestern wontons and thought it was worth a shot. I changed it up a bit, swapping out pre-packaged ranch seasoning for HOMEMADE taco seasoning**, and fried them in coconut oil so I feel better about my fried dinner. 

Here’s what you need: 

photo 1 (3) 

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup diced onion
  • 1/4 cup diced red bell pepper
  • 1/4 cup frozen corn kernels
  • 1/4 cup canned black beans, drained
  • 1 cup cooked chicken, shredded
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2 TBSP taco seasoning
  • wonton wrappers
  • refined coconut oil for frying
  • 1 egg, whisked, for sealing the wontons

Here’s what you do: 

  1. Once you’ve chopped everything up, place the olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. When it’s ready to go, add the onions. Saute until translucent – should take about 2 minutes. 
  2. Add the red bell pepper. Keep on sauteing for another couple minutes. 
  3. Add the corn and black beans and mix to combine for a minute or so. 
  4. Add the chicken. Mix it up for another minute. 
  5. Transfer everything to a mixing bowl. Add the cheese and the taco seasoning. Mix, mix, mix. 
  6. Now, what you’ll need to do is put a small spoonful of filling in the center of the wonton wrapper (if you have too much filling, you won’t be able to close them). Then, using your finger, wet the top edge and the right edge of the wrapper with the whisked egg. Fold the dry edges of the wonton to the wet edges. 
  7. Repeat Step 6 as needed. 
  8. Heat your cocount oil. 
  9. Carefully place the prepped wontons in the oil. Fry on both sides until golden brown. Keep an eye on them so that you don’t overdo them. 
  10. Place on a paper towel-lined plate. Keep going until you’ve fried them all. 
  11. When everything is all fried up, serve alongside some guac and enjoy! 

photo 2 (2)

** Y’all. If you haven’t tried making your own taco seasoning, you’ve been missing out. Ditch the high sodium madness and make this stuff. I love it on turkey and ground beef when making tacos / lettuce wraps. 

One thought on ““Labor-less Day” Southwestern Wontons

Leave a Reply

