“Summertime Grillin’ ” Beer-Marinated Chicken

Some Sundays, I get brunch and sleep away the afternoon and early evening in a haze of mimosas. This type of Sunday usually results in a week where I am playing catch up, trying to grocery shop, clean, cook, and do laundry.

But this PAST Sunday, I skipped brunch (drank some warm lemon water and green juice instead) and spent the day being absurdly productive. This, my friends, leads to a week of a clean house, good workouts, and delicious food.

I fired up the grill on Sunday. By myself. And the cats and I are all unscathed and with whiskers and eyebrows in tact, respectively. In fact, we are eating on the tastiest chicken I have ever produced. And, I have tried my share of chicken recipes.

photo (17)

This is an “almost Paleo” recipe in that I mayyyy have used a cup of beer to marinate the chicken. And then drank the rest, because duh. I attribute the flavor in this chicken mostly to the spices, the marination time, and the grill. You need the grill to achieve the smoky goodness. Even if you hate grilling because it makes you, your hair, and all your clothes smell like a barbecue pit, it’s worth it.

I only slightly tweaked this recipe to make my masterpiece.

Here’s what you’ll need and what you’ll do:

You Need This:

– 8-10 chicken drumsticks (my package from HEB came with 14 so I went with it and was just a little more generous with the other ingredients)
– 1/4 cup olive oil
– 1 tsp onion salt
– 1 tsp paprika
– 1/2 tsp ground cumin
– 1/4 tsp cayenne
– 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
– 3-4 cloves of garlic, grated
– Juice of one lime
– 1 cup beer (omit if you’re trying to be an over-achiever and go Paleo-Paleo)
– handful of chopped fresh parsley
– Salt (to taste)

You Do This:

  1. Rinse and pat dry your chicken drumsticks and toss them into a ziplock bag.
  2. Mix together the following in a medium-sized bowl: olive oil, onion salt, paprika, cumin, cayenne black pepper.
  3. Grate the fresh garlic cloves into the bag.
  4. Squeeze in the lime juice.
  5. Pour in the beer. This will lead to lots of foam. At this point, pat yourself on the back if you were smart enough to grab a bigger bowl and, if you’re like me, stir slowly so you don’t lose your marinade to your kitchen counter.
  6. Give the marinade a good stir to mix it all together and taste it. Then add some salt. I am not a salt fiend like most of humanity so I didn’t add much.
  7. Toss in a handful of chopped fresh parsley and mix it in.
  8. Pour the marinade into the ziplock bag with the chicken. Seal it and massage the marinade into all the pieces of chicken. Let the chicken marinate for at least a couple of hours in the fridge, overnight would be best to let the chicken absorb all the flavors. (I gave it about 3 hours to do its thing and it was gooood. I set a timer to remind me to flip the chicken every 30 minutes so all of the pieces would get even marination.)
  9. Once the chicken has marinated, simply throw them on an OILED grill. Again, don’t be like me – oil the grates of your dang grill.
  10. Grill for 25-30 minutes, turning over the pieces and basting it with the marinade every 7-8 minutes until the internal temperature is above 170 degrees Farenheit. (If you’re in the business of grilling, get a meat thermometer. Life. Saver. Literally.)
  11. Once they are done, remove them from the grill and snap a picture of your badassness. Then, divvy them up into various Tupperware containers alongside veggies you’ve made and eat like a champ all week. I found this meal to be really diverse. You can do the veggie thing, or the salad thing, or the lettuce wrap thing, or the chicken quesadilla thing. Endless possibilities. Enjoy!
One thought on ““Summertime Grillin’ ” Beer-Marinated Chicken

Leave a Reply

