“Get Out of Your Funk” Broccoli and Cheese Chicken Roll-Ups

It is a proven fact that, when you are tired, you crave junk food. I am the poster girl for this phenomenon. Just ask my cats who watched me eat cold pizza out of Ziploc bag after a 16-hour day (that was preceded with 4 1/2 hours of sleep).

Tonight, I needed something that tricked my brain and my tummy into thinking that it was getting junk. I needed something fancier than my trusty grilled chicken and broccoli, but that wasn’t from a drive-thru.

I stumbled across a recipe for broccoli and cheese “stuffed” chicken. At first glance, I thought, “I have to stuff things INTO a chicken breast? That sounds serious.” But then I realized that this recipe is so much a stuffing situation and more of a roll-up type thing.

Broccoli? Healthy. Chicken? Protein-y. Cheese? Yes. This particular recipe uses Laughing Cow cheese wedges, which, albeit dairy and somewhat processed, is really low in calories. Which is good enough for me.

Guys, my dinner was delicious. Filling and savory – exactly what I needed to push me out of my sleepy funk.

Image

You’ll notice in the picture there were two stuffed chicken breasts on the plate, but I didn’t even touch the second one. One did the job!

Here’s the recipe, heavily tweaked from here.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 thinly sliced, boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 cup steamed broccoli, chopped into pretty small pieces
  • 1 wedge of garlic & herb The Laughing Cow Cheese
  • 1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs
  • 1 Tbsp Italian Seasoning
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 toothpicks

RECIPE:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Rinse and dry the chicken breasts.  
  3. Place egg whites in a shallow dish and set aside.
  4. Mix bread crumbs, Italian seasoning, salt, and pepper in a separate shallow dish and set aside.
  5. Open The Laughing Cow Cheese wedge. Split the cheese between the two breasts. 
  6. Add cooked broccoli on top of the cheese. You want enough to have a generous portion of broccoli to roll up, but not so much that it’s impossible to enclose all the filling.
  7. Roll chicken cutlet as tight as possible and secure with a toothpick.
  8. Take the roll and brush lightly with egg whites. Then, place chicken into bread crumb mixture, covering all sides.  
  9. Transfer roll to the parchment-lined sheet pan.
  10. Bake chicken for 15-20 minutes.
  11. If you’re me, grab a second wedge of cheese and mix it into the leftover broccoli you have and serve your new side dish alongside your delish entree.

 

5 thoughts on ““Get Out of Your Funk” Broccoli and Cheese Chicken Roll-Ups

Leave a Reply

